Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~

Go down

New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Empty New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~

Post by Pred on Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:21 pm

I will try and post pics with this post.
I found this Zenith AM-Shortwave radio this weekend but am unable to find a wiring diagram for it thus far.
It does pull in a few AM stations, And there is a very quiet hum, So it will not be plugged in any more.
We are ordering a bunch of Caps. for it this week and will try and rebuild it.
What is odd to me, And I am new to this, Is that it has casters on the bottom and appears to want the speaker to face the wall otherwise the dial in upside down.
We thought this is odd but what do we know?
Anyhow any info you may have on this Zenith is greatly appreciated! ! !
New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Z1-1
New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Z2-1
Here is the only label we can find in/on it
New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Z3
New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Z4
So far all we can guess it that it is post war and it works kind of and the lights work as well.
There are 3 ? Bands
Short wave
Broadcast
And Automatic
What is Automatic?
And once it is recapped,
Can we expect to get Shortwave to function with an antennae?
Thanks all
P&E

Pred

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2010-01-10

Back to top Go down

New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~ Empty Re: New to me Zenith 6AO5~ ??? Look ~~~

Post by Bill Cahill on Sun Jan 24, 2010 9:59 pm

Actually, I think it's pre war, but, could be wrong.
It's a chairside radio. The back of the unit is supposed to face the side of your easy chair so you can operate the set. The speaker is pointed into the room.
These sets are collectable.