Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect?

Go down

Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect? Empty Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect?

Post by OccamsShaver Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:06 pm

Hi-
I have an old Admiral 5R10N that belonged to a grandfather I never met. Anyhow, it has been sitting on a shelf as decoration for a long time. I am by no means an electronics expert but have done a lot of work on my own musical equipment (including some tube guitar amps) over the years. I am thinking that maybe this could be a good learning experience. I think that I actually removed the power cable some years ago. I opened up the radio today. I know that the hot lead connects to the potentiometer lug where the red electrical tape is. Where does the neutral lead connect?  
Is there anything in the pic that jumps out at you that I should address?

Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect? Admira10
Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect? Admira11

Thanks for any input or feedback (puns intended).

OS

OccamsShaver

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2021-01-25

Back to top Go down

Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect? Empty Re: Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect?

Post by mr_ed01 Mon Jan 25, 2021 11:48 pm

The hot side of the line cord goes to the switch (red tape) the neutral side of the line cord goes to the 35Z5 pin 2. (schematic, Rider Vol 22, Admiral page 15)

mr_ed01

Number of posts : 120
Registration date : 2012-03-16

Back to top Go down

Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect? Empty Re: Admiral 5R10N tube radio - where does neutral lead from mains connect?