Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Proper replacement capacitor

Go down

Proper replacement capacitor Empty Proper replacement capacitor

Post by John Demarrais on Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:32 pm

I have little experience working on old tube radios. I have a non-working factory radio in my 1962 Ford Falcon and want to fix it. Motorola 04MD. It does not power on, i.e. it does nothing. I got a schematic for it along with a parts list. I want to order some new capacitors for it.

My question is about what a proper replacement is for the one electrolytic cap it has. It is listed as a 200-400 MF electrolytic cap, rated at 16 volts. I do not know why the broad range rating for the capacitance. I am wondering if I get a 400 MFD cap at anything over 16 volts it will be okay?

John Demarrais

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2020-09-17

Back to top Go down

Proper replacement capacitor Empty Re: Proper replacement capacitor

Post by jerryhawthorne on Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:17 pm

Well, it certainly will work fine, higher voltage fine and anywhere withing the range given will be fine. I hope it works.

jerryhawthorne

Number of posts : 709
Registration date : 2012-10-13

Back to top Go down

Post by Dale H. Cook on Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:29 pm

John Demarrais wrote:I am wondering if I get a 400 MFD cap at anything over 16 volts it will be okay?
It will if the working voltage of the replacement is not too high. Electrolytics need to operate at a certain percentage of their rated voltage. I would suggest nothing above a 25 volt replacement. Note also that 400 ufd is no longer a standard value, but 470 ufd should be fine.
Dale H. Cook
Dale H. Cook

Number of posts : 98
Registration date : 2014-05-10

Back to top Go down

Post by Resistance is Futile on Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:05 pm

That is a hybrid radio both tubes and transistors.