Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Condenser/capacitor block replacement

Go down

Condenser/capacitor block replacement  Empty Condenser/capacitor block replacement

Post by cameronw on Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 am

I have recently received a Gulbransen model 60 chassis. I believe one of the 24A tubes have been exposed to air. When starting the radio the tubes glow besides the aired one and I get a faint signal from stations. volume control does not work. After 10 minutes of running I believe the condenser block smoked for a few seconds and stopped but had no effect. I will be ordering the new tube soon and I would like to replace the condenser block. I have some understanding on how to replace a cap but not a whole block. Some information on how to proceed will be Great! I am still new to this.

https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/gulbransen_60.html

cameronw

Number of posts : 6
Registration date : 2017-08-02

Back to top Go down

Condenser/capacitor block replacement  Empty Re: Condenser/capacitor block replacement

Post by Chas on Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:40 pm

This radio is a TRF with relatively low amplification for each stage. Tearing into the cap bloc may not be all that desirable. The block itself may not be easy to open and doing so could leaved bent or distorted.

The purpose of the block was to reduce labor on the radio assembly line by not having individual caps to install.