Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New guy here, scratching my head with radio problem.

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

New guy here, scratching my head with radio problem. Empty New guy here, scratching my head with radio problem.

Post by bobwilson1977 on Sun Feb 08, 2009 4:57 pm

Hello there,
I've been messing around with radios off and on for about 10 years. I'll admit that I'm definitely more of a amateur, thus not as well informed as most of you all are. Anyhow, I have this mysterious problem with a radio I've been restoring. Its a Hoffman set from the 40's with typical all american 5 layout. The unit uses a transformer for primary power. When I brought the set home, all of the tubes lit but there was no audible sound. Only a very quiet hum, which sounded more like feedback from the transformer.

Since then I have replaced all capacitors and tested all the tubes. All tubes tested very good. Once done re-capping, I tested the set out. Again there is no sound. Everything lights up. All wiring appears intact. All connections to the speaker and speaker transformer appear intact as well. When I mean quite, I mean nothing. No static or anything. So I am scratching my head on this one and hoping some of you might have an idea of some things I could try to remedy the problem. My only guess- and this is a big guess, is that perhaps the volume control is faulty.

Thanks in advance!

bobwilson1977

Number of posts : 44
Registration date : 2009-02-08

Back to top Go down

New guy here, scratching my head with radio problem. Empty Re: New guy here, scratching my head with radio problem.

Post by mbird97x on Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:11 pm