Tube Radio Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tube Jukebox mp3 mod?

4 posters

Go down

Tube Jukebox mp3 mod? Empty Tube Jukebox mp3 mod?

Post by Vincenzo Fri Feb 28, 2014 5:01 am

Hi all,
i recently acquired a Seeburg 147S trashcan, my first.  Has anyone connected an mp3 player to one?  If so how do you go about it?  I'm new to this so please don't slap me around too hard  Sad .
Right now I am in the process of recapping the amp, but I did get her to play through an external amp.

Thanks

Vincenzo

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2014-02-28

Back to top Go down

Tube Jukebox mp3 mod? Empty Re: Tube Jukebox mp3 mod?

Post by Wildcat445 Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:35 pm

Welcome to TRF.

A line-level input to the audio stage should get you going. Good luck.

Regards

WC

Wildcat445

Number of posts : 4893
Registration date : 2011-09-19

Back to top Go down

Post by Dr. Radio Sat Mar 01, 2014 1:31 am

Welcome to the site.

Do you have a link to the schematic?

You'd want to provide a tap into the "hot" side of the volume control.

You will want to provide isolation so there is no risk of shock. This and combining stereo signal can be achieved by using two small audio transformers that are still available from Radio Shack I believe.

Maybe you have already figured something out, but you will need a way to turn on the amp without activating the record selector assembly and turntable. Some jukes just keep the chassis "lit" all the time, some only fire up the chassis when a selection is made.

Just some thoughts.
Dr. Radio
Dr. Radio

Number of posts : 899
Registration date : 2012-09-17

Back to top Go down

Post by willy3486 Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:57 pm