Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet

Go down

Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet Empty Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet

Post by Uffda on Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:25 am

I have a bunch of 1923-25 battery sets with fair to pretty good finish. How should I go about making
them look nicer while retaining the original finish. Clean then? Howards finish restorer? Some other
type of blending agent? I am not looking for showroom new, just a more even look that makes the scuffs
less noticeable.

-Phil

Uffda

Number of posts : 76
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet Empty Re: Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet

Post by Resistance is Futile on Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:12 am

I am not an expert at this but I have used a mild abrasive that doesn't scratch glass such as bon-ami. Chalk is also another form of polishing away scuffs and paint scrapes. I have even use a pencil eraser very lightly.

I have removed scuff marks and even from car finishes with Never Dull magic wading as it doesn't dull the painted surfaces. It polishes well and will create a shine if use carefully, also give Brasso a try. I have use all three on plastic to shine them to a mirror finish. cheers

I wouldn't advise this on Paper finishes though.
Resistance is Futile
Resistance is Futile

Number of posts : 911

Back to top Go down

Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet Empty Re: Improving but NOT Refinishing Cabinet

Post by Uffda on Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:40 am

These are all wood cabinets. I guess what I am really asking is if there is some sort of wash that will fill in the
lighter worn areas. Howard Restor-A-Finish is the only product I have heard of like this. Are there better others?