AA5 power cord

Go down

AA5 power cord Empty AA5 power cord

Post by Ben Delk on Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:18 pm

I'm a computer geek by trade so my world exists in ones and zero, + and -, 3 wire grounded circuits. These AA5 with a so called hot chassis admittly confuse my thinking. If iI replace the power cable with a polarized one, wide blade is neutral, narrow blade is hot, is it possible to have the power filter (multi-section cap) polairty reversed? I lean to the cautous side with electrical, my work surface is high density rubber, I stand on a rubber mate I use an iso tranf and variac. I don't worry to much about touching things I shouldn't but more about where and how to actually check voltages with dmm or analog. I'm thinking if Underwriters Labs was in business in the 30's and 40's we would have fewer radios. To say the least a chaasis with 115 volts across it and earth ground makes me scratch my head. Anyone have a tried and proven way to go about checking line voltage.
Ben Delk
Ben Delk

Number of posts : 440
Registration date : 2012-04-03

Back to top Go down

AA5 power cord Empty Re: AA5 power cord

Post by Resistance is Futile on Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:42 pm

Yes it is possible to have the capacitor polarity reversed. The Power caps are always on the DC side.
Testing the line voltage is simple on an AA5.

Put one probe on the volume control switch (incoming Hot side) and the other on the chassis with the switch in the off position (of course you can have it on also using your probes.) It may also be wired up with what they call a floating ground rather than to the chassis, so you have to take into consideration the voltage drop when turned on.
Of course when the set is off the voltage will be at line voltage with no drop, as no current is flowing.

note: sometimes they are wired incorectly and the chassis is hot all the time hence a shock hazard.