Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions

Go down

Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions Empty Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions

Post by danemodsandy on Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:45 pm

Hello All:

If anyone could give me some pointers on cleaning a tube radio chassis, I'd be very grateful. I am VERY new to actual restoration. The radio is a Zenith Consoltone 6D015Z 6-tube tabletop model, brown Bakelite, circa 1946-48. It is extremely nasty inside, with a chassis caked with mouse droppings, roach ditto, and rust. While I am not experienced enough to handle its electronic resto myself, I'd like to take it to a restorer clean. And the rust's gotta go, obviously.

I understand that a chassis can be cleaned with soap and water, but I don't know if there are any cautions about the tube sockets or anything else. Can anyone advise me? My goal is to get this radio restored to proper function, and to really excellent cosmetic condition.

Many thanks in advance -

Sandy McLendon

"I miss civilization, don't you?"
danemodsandy
danemodsandy

Number of posts : 11
Registration date : 2011-10-16

Back to top Go down

Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions Empty Re: Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions

Post by Bill Cahill on Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:01 pm

I personally don't reccommend soap, and, water. Especially not water.
I have used denatured alcohol on chassis cleanning, also, I have successfully used good quality electrical contact spray.
Tube sockets can be cleanned with contact cleanner. Controls with control, and, tuner cleanner.
Some folks have used de ox it to some extent.
Welcome to the forums.
Bill Cahill

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4419
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions Empty Re: Chassis Cleaning - Newbie Questions

Post by danemodsandy on Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:08 pm