Hot chasis

Go down

Hot chasis

Post by Patrick on Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:32 pm

I am not an expert at radio repair but have restored several radios. My current Philco 42-PT-321 has me stumped because I measure 117 volts from the chasis to a ground. I have replaced all caps and put on a new polarized cord with the hot wire to the switch. The radio works OK but is too dangerous. Any ideas please?

Patrick

Number of posts : 32
Registration date : 2010-11-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Hot chasis

Post by Bill Cahill on Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:47 pm

The switch is usually the cold side. Reverse power cord wires.
Bill Cahill

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4594
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Hot Chassis

Post by Alfred Corbin on Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:15 pm

Patrick:

I could not find a schematic for your Philco, but....

If it's a transformerless set, there's a 50-50 chance your chassis will be deadly hot depending on how it's plugged in. You may need to reverse the wires on the plug.

If it has a transformer, the chassis may have a high impedance 115 volts on it due to the line bypass capacitor. If you are using an old fashioned analog voltmeter (the best kind, I think), that voltage will show as only a few harmless volts. If you are using a high-impedance modern digital meter, it will read 115 volts.

You are wise to check it out to avoid a nasty shock.

Alfred Corbin

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2009-02-11

Back to top Go down

Post by Patrick on Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:04 pm

It does not have a transformer. I thought you always wired the hot wire to the switch to avoid a hot chassis even with the set turned off. Guess I was wrong.
Schematic at: http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Resources/512/M0013512.htm

Patrick

Number of posts : 32
Registration date : 2010-11-08

Back to top Go down

Post by exray on Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:50 pm

I'm not meaning to be snarky but don't bother measuring the chassis to a separate ground.