Beginners questions... subs for missing/damaged parts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Beginners questions... subs for missing/damaged parts

Post by lrom on Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:13 pm

I hope this question fits the new category. I am a beginner with a gutted AM "farm radio" Nipperette made by RCA. It uses the following four tubes: 1a7, 1n5, 1h5, 1t5. I have found a schematic for a Northern Electric Baby Champ B4000 which uses a similar tube set. This set was water damaged at some point, with some ash residue inside the cabinet so I assume it may have been exposed to fire.

There are a few components that will need to be replaced due to physical damage. Most of you would junk the set but it's the only one I've got so I will use this for a first experiment despite the flawed logic in attempting repair. Let me apologize in advance for how basic these questions must sound to you all, I can build and program a PC but I have no real idea what to do with an old radio (yet). Can anyone help with advice or resources on how to get replacements for the following:

1 - Tuning capacitor - it is dual gang, I assume 365pf for tuning and the other section for the oscillator. I was told 365pf/170pf on another forum was "standard" but I can't seem to find this value yet. I'd like to use the original tuning dial glass and markings, so I assume I need to be close but is there a little wiggle room when subbing these? Problem is serious corrosion, shaft no longer turns. I'll attempt to salvage it with cleaning if it cannot be subbed easily.

2 - 1st & 2nd IF cans - I have no idea how to substitute these, or even what the values are. Is there standard values to these components, or some way to determine based on the circuit? Coils appear to be open. IF frequency most likely 455 khz.