philco 49-602 B+ Voltage Too High, No Life

Go down

philco 49-602 B+ Voltage Too High, No Life

Post by linuxrunner on Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:53 pm

First i have little to no electrical knowledge, i was gonna scrap everything in this radio and use the case but i figured might as well try to get it to work and maybe learn something first.

i replaced all the caps in this radio (except the Mica ones) before I did anything. upon powering it up i get no signs of life, no noise, no smell and no glowing of any tubes. I went through the wiring schematic the best i could and i didn't change any wiring when i wired up the caps (but i am not sure if it worked before). The diagram shows i should be getting 125v dc after the selenium rectifier but i am getting 156v dc. then after some resistors it should be 120v then 55v then 7.5v. I am getting 150v DC everywhere.

From what i can tell the expected failure mode of a selenium rectifier is higher resistance so i would expect a lower voltage if it were going bad?

I know it's probably pretty obvious for some, but could you point me in a direction? does this sound like bad wiring? faulty tubes? a bad rectifier or caps? not sure even where to start.

linuxrunner

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2018-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: philco 49-602 B+ Voltage Too High, No Life

Post by willy3486 on Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:05 am