Tube tester advice and help please

Go down

Tube tester advice and help please

Post by xtal_01 on Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:39 am

Hey!

So, I an not a radio guy. I am a machinist by trade. I just like to "play". I have built a couple of regenerative tube radios and own a couple of tube sets (R390A, Hallicrafters s-38E, ....). I also have a collection of about 200 tubes (just kept getting them given to me).

Years and years ago ( maybe 30 ), I got an Eico 666 tube tester (without the 610A adapter). Probably paid $20 for it.

I have used it ever since to test tubes. Never had it calibrated. I died once and a friend who knows about electronics (newer electronics but not tubes) fixed it ... this was about 15 years ago, don't know what was wrong.

Two questions:

1) I see people talking about calibrating tube testers .... how can I do this?

2) I would like to get another tube tester ... a spare ... with 200 or more tubes, it would be good to have another. I see them all the way from $20 to $1000 on ebay. This is just a spare (and I only dabble in this hobby .. not a full time obsession) but I do want it to work and test in case mine dies. I don't want to spend a fortune ... say $20 to $100 (including shipping .... money is a bit tight right now). What tube tester do you recommend (or maybe what tube testers should I stay away from)? Where is the best place to find one at a reasonable price?

3) ... sorry, just thought of a third question. Any idea where I can find the 610A adapter for my Eico 666 (again for a reasonable price)?

Thanks so much!

Mike
Jericho, VT

xtal_01

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2018-01-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Tube tester advice and help please

Post by Chas on Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:59 pm

Mike,