Should I take this on?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Should I take this on?

Post by Ric-amped on Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:12 pm

Hello, just joined today and looking for some advise.
Friend of mine has what appears to be a 1935 Emerson mod 38 radio, U6 . Speaker has a date of 1934 on it. He wants to see if we can get it running.
I have some experience building guitar amplifiers from chassis up, also doing cap jobs on older tube guitar amps. (60s-70s)

Speaker has some tears in it , lots of RCA tubes, and the mice have eaten the cord. I know how to repair guitar speakers that have holes in them but the cone on this speaker seems pretty dried out.
No power or output transformers that I have identified yet, so this is new to me.
Found a schematic and all the vintage tubes on line.
I was going to start with a cap job, cord, and speaker repair and see what happens. Also, been reading as much as I can online about vintage repair to become more familiar with radios. I am at the beginning of this process.

Should I take this on?
Other than killing myself with electricity, what should I look out for ?
Are there parts I will not be able to get?

Not afraid to read and learn on my own or do the work so to speak , semi retired at this point in my life.
Your thoughts?

Ric-amped

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2017-10-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Should I take this on?

Post by jerryhawthorne on Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:34 pm

Here is a link to the schematic for your radio.  You are correct in that it has no power transformer.  This is an AC/DC radio  and beware as one side of the A/C line is tied to the chassis.  Great opportunity to get a real shock.  Use of an isolation transformer on the A/C line will remove the chance for an unpleasant surprise.