Stromberg Carlson 61-H (1935)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Stromberg Carlson 61-H (1935)

Post by Radiola214 on Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:53 pm

Does anyone here know where or how I can get a good clear copy of the schematic for my Stromberg Carlson 61-H? I've purchased on DVD copies of Beitman's and Rider's but the image for this particular radio is blurred for too many values such as cap and resistors. A parts list would also be great. I've been comparing the schematic I have downloaded  from the Radio Museum web site to Model 62 (1936) from Rider's. I'm just beginning this hobby of radio restoration so I will have more questions.

In the above picture of the chassis the long power resistor appears to be several resistors together on a rod. What wattage is this type of resistor? Where's a good source for replacement? If it's made of several discrete resistors why didn't they just use what they needed? Also the resistor attached to the chassis wall I've seen this type talked about in some Youtube videos but I'm still not sure of whether to replace it and with what?

Did I post the above picture correctly?

Radiola214

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2017-09-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Stromberg Carlson 61-H (1935)

Post by Chas on Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:18 am

Need to cajole someone into scanning at hi-rez the Riders pages involved. Be aware that some Riders are poor to begin with as that is the data that was supplied to Riders, back "then". Riders did not customarily redraw schematics as does Sam's' currently.

If the resistors shown are not open or shorted to chassis leave them be.

They can be replaced with tie strips and individual resistors or aluminum potted resistors that are bolted to the chassis.

All are available from Allied, Mouser, Digi-Key, Newark, Farnell, etc.