Newbie from Tennessee

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Newbie from Tennessee

Post by snowscad on Sat Apr 29, 2017 11:08 pm

Hello everyone my name is Dwain I am somewhat new to this I have been working on these tube radios
For about 5years now on my spare time i have learned alot and there is alot I don't know so all the help
Is appreciateit. I have somewhat restored about 7 radios some was not working and some was, i
Have in my collection now 7 working and 3 not working and the 3 I'm working on now.

The 7 working ones are zenith 4724, 8h034, z733,7h820-0.
Philco b956,41-296,38-45
Here recently I pick up a Zenith 6D525 that I recapped replace some wires and it works but it
Only picks up a local station with the voices sounding if I can explain this gerbering, far as I can tell the antenna looks like
It wired right I'm at a deadend on this one.

And also just pickup a Zenith 5-S29 which as not been in use for a long time I clean it up and got the
Switches working and replace all caps and the rectifier tube,it's got three bands on the radio
A B C I don't know now which is the broadcast I think it is the A but not sure and now I can pick up
Stations good on C band which it sounds like shortwave but not getting nothing on the other bands but I think the band A is broadcast but not sure. I cleaned the band switch two or three times.
I also pickup a Philco 38 that I have not started on.

Like I said am somewhat new to this hobby so I need all the help I can get.
So thanks in advance
My grandchildren call me D

snowscad

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2017-04-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Newbie from Tennessee

Post by jukeboxman on Sun Apr 30, 2017 12:10 am

Hello and welcome to TRF -i know there are a lot of very knowledgeable people here -we are a slower site than some but feel free to enjoy

jukeboxman
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 123
Registration date : 2011-11-04

Back to top Go down

Post by Bill Cahill on Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:02 pm