"New" member

View previous topic View next topic Go down

"New" member

Post by Chas on Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:36 pm

Hello all,

This is my first introduction post to this board,

I have a moderate sized collection of radio from early 20th century to about 1995. I have not added any more recently build radios. There are around 500 sets. I prefer battery sets of the 20's, some 30's and a smattering of sets up to the late 90's, both tube and transistor. I am a Ham operator and prefer RTTY, the station is down for lack of an operating area and a wire antenna, plus the time to devote to operating. I have been collecting since 1958 or so. Took a hiatus to be a teenager, for a couple of years then got back into collecting in 1968. I still have to process the remains of a couple of estate clean-outs, that has taken a great deal of time. Much stuff has to find new homes...

I was and still am a dedicated family man, they are always first... Any spare time is divided between more time for family and house then the radio hobby.

No problems repairing my sets. I have been doing so for years using resources in my library and former monthly publications such as ARC, Hornspeaker AWA Bulletin, ARCA Gazette.

Would like to spend more time here as I have found other boards too fast paced for me...

I do not know the bells and whistles of this board. I would like to amend this post if I am asked to tell more of myself. I would like to post images. I would rather not use an external host.
Regards,

Chas

Chas

Number of posts : 65
Registration date : 2008-07-24

Back to top Go down

Re: "New" member

Post by Bill Cahill on Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:54 pm

Well, you are most welcomed here. This is a slow paced site, but, don't be dismayed. We have a number of knowledgeable people here who love helping. Pictures, including with another host, are well received here. I only ask that you don't delete any old pictures, as that messes up things for future people.

Bill

Admin
Admin