New guy from Indiana

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New guy from Indiana

Post by Paulieb880G on Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:38 pm

I am an old guy who has inherited a radio from a cousin who recently passed. All I know about it is that it does not work. It is a floor model. I remember him listening to Cubs games on it. I would like to see if I could get it running again. I don't know anything whatsoever about radios, but a Google search turned up this forum. And it's free, so here I am.

I am a retired farmer. The kids still farm the farm I was born on. I am too old to chase the girls so I need something to occupy my time. I was a fair wrench in my day, so I bet I could learn and probably have most of the tools I might need. Electronic testers and that might be another story. I assume, for a price, I can get what I need. Hopefully you guys can set me onto the right track. My friends call me Paulie, and it's mighty nice to make your acquaintance.

Paulieb880G

Number of posts : 47
Registration date : 2017-02-22

Back to top Go down

Re: New guy from Indiana

Post by lhlyda on Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:45 pm

Hi Paulie,

Welcome to the forum. Lots of advice and knowledge on here.

I suggest to start with, post the brand and model on here and see who has info on the radio.

Also, go to  [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

And look under resources and get a schematic for it. Its free!

Welcome aboard and if I can help, let me know.

Larry
lhlyda

Number of posts : 50
Registration date : 2017-01-17

Back to top Go down

Post by Paulieb880G on Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:54 pm

The tuning dial says "Grunow All Wave". It has a big round dial with four knobs under the dial. The cloth on the front is ragged and it looks like that covers the speaker maybe. The cord looks like it is about 90 years old. I don't think I want to plug it in until repairs are made. I can see bare wire on the cord. Thanks for the reply, Larry.

Paulieb880G

Back to top Go down