bad reception AA5 radios

View previous topic View next topic Go down

bad reception AA5 radios

Post by Sinatra1982 on Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:07 am

I am a new beginner at this and so far have worked on 5 different AA5 radios. I have recapped them all, replaced some resistors and replaced some bad tubes. Problem is I have the same problem with each of them.
I can pick up the same distorted stations on each one and on each one in the middle of the band I get this scratchy static sound when tuning up or down the dial. I get maybe two or three stations on each one. It's like I am sitting under a bunch of shop lights, but am under none. I am working in my basement and even tried the radios upstairs but to the same demise. I have tried using a newer good radio with the same problem, still same result. My question is this. Within 20 feet of my house sits an electric pole transformer for the electricity to our home. Could this be my problem with all the interference I have described, especially since it is happening to all five radios or am I doing the something wrong each time to each radio? Thanks for your help.

Sinatra1982

Number of posts : 60
Registration date : 2016-10-22

Back to top Go down

Re: bad reception AA5 radios

Post by jerryhawthorne on Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:23 pm

You may be onto something. Take one or two radios and go to a friend's house/garage and try away from the pole transformer.
Jerry

jerryhawthorne

Number of posts : 731
Registration date : 2012-10-13

Back to top Go down

Post by jukeboxman on Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:48 pm

OK TRY THIS --WITH A PORTABLE RADIO IN HAND -TURN OF EACH BREAKER IN YOUR PANEL BOX ONE AT A TIME -LEAVE IT OFF AND MOVE TO THE NEXT ONE -IF THE NOISE STOPS WHEN A BREAKER GOES OFF -FIND OUT WHAT ROOM OR ROOMS THAT BREAKER SERVES-