Processing 78 rpm records to digital

Go down

Processing 78 rpm records to digital

Post by Wildcat445 on Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:40 pm

I have been doing this for a couple of years, with varying degrees of success. I let the "experts" on another forum convince me that converting a Technics turntable I have to play 78's was a good idea. It was a HORRIBLE idea. I was running an AudioTechnica AT96E magnetic cartridge that tracked way too lightly to work right. All I accomplished was ruining a perfectly good turntable. And chewed up an expensive needle in the process, all to do less than fifty records in total.

The main problem I have and why I converted the Technics was that my receiver only works with magnetic cartridges. Rigging up an amplifier just for a ceramic cartridge is not practical. I looked all over creation for a turntable that would track accurately enough to play 78's but with a magnetic cartridge. This is easier said than done.

I was digging thru my beloved storage shed the other day and ran across an old GE turntable that my stepdad bought new. I consider the thing a plow, so it obviously ended up in the storage shed. It has a "GE Magnetic Cartridge" sticker on the motor board, so this piqued my interest. It appears to be late 1960's-ish. And it is four speed, and will play 78's. It has an Astatic model 133 magnetic cartridge, Gary Stork has a needle for it, so now I'm back in the 78 processing business. This cartridge tracks from 4 to 6 grams, I have it set on about 4 1/2 and, so far, all is well. It is rim drive, which might not be so good for processing LP's, but it should be just fine for 78's.

Wildcat445

Number of posts : 5168
Registration date : 2011-09-19

Back to top Go down

Re: Processing 78 rpm records to digital

Post by Conelrad on Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:36 pm

The best 78 cart is the GE VRII magnetic with a spherical stylus.

Dennis

Conelrad

Number of posts : 94
Registration date : 2013-04-20

Back to top Go down