Atkinson cycle engine

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Atkinson cycle engine

Post by Wildcat445 on Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:29 pm

It does not take much to entertain me.  We get "Car and Driver" magazine at work.  It's not much of a magazine, really, and I think the writers in that magazine are all snoots who worry about things the average slob just wanting to get to work would never think of.  They get their panties in a wad about "uncommunicative steering", "blatant understeer", "waggy backside" and other terminology that they probably make up as they go along, and that only they understand or give two hoots about.  There are a couple worthwhile terms that have been used lately that got me to thinking.  Atkinson cycle and Miller cycle engines.  I'm an old auto mechanic.  I have no idea what these are.  

We are mostly familiar with the four cycle Otto cycle engine.  Atkinson cycle and Atkinson cycle compatible refer, nowadays to engines with variable valve timing camshafts.  This technology basically fools the engine into thinking that it has more or less compression, and more or less displacement than it actually has.  This technology, combined with pressure aspiration, direct fuel injection and computerized engine management is what enables a little 122 cid four cylinder to build more power than a 327 Chevy did back in the day.  I read where Ford has a version of the 2.0 Liter Mustang 4 banger that makes 350 horses!  That is almost approaching 454 Chevy territory.

I Googled "Atkinson Cycle" engine:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atkinson_cycle

Then Miller Cycle:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miller_cycle

The most common usage of Miller cycle engines is in Mazda cars.