RCA factory radio repair stand

View previous topic View next topic Go down

RCA factory radio repair stand

Post by willy3486 on Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:02 am

While I was surfing the web I ran across this picture from the RCA factory.

If you notice each chassis has a stand holding it up. I like the design of the stand but there wasn't a good shot of it other than this. So I studied it and came up with a design of my own. If you look at the picture you notice that the feet look like they have been bent on the ends. So I thought the center may actually be bent the other way. With that in mind I came up with these measurements.

What I did was to take a framing square and draw a line on each edge 6 inches. Once I did that I drew a line from one 6 inch side to the other. Then I laid the square on the new line and drew a line out 1 1/2 inches out for the feet. I then came in 2 1/2 inches to make the line to cut for the feet. I just looked at it and thought that was a good width. I then laid the square on the line I drew across and then lined it up with the point. I then drew a line from the point down to the feet. This will be where the holes will be drilled later. Ignore the 3/4 lines at the top, I marked these in case I wanted to cut it across. Instead I just filed the point down a little.

In this picture you see the corners cut out and bent to shape. I made these pieces out of aluminum. The holes don't have to be a specific place. I just made two that holds the side bars and one at the top to hold the knob. The side bars are 7 inches long by about 1 inch. Again it doesn't have to be exact , I just use what I find. In this picture it is the rusted bars. The two pieces to the far right are used to hold the actual chassis. More on that later.

This next photo shows the pieces after making the other holes and slots.