Broadcast Engineering Tales

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Broadcast Engineering Tales

Post by Guest on Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:57 am

Greetings to the Forum:

I got a reply to my new member introduction from Willy3486 wherein, upon reading that I was a retired broadcast engineer, he requested that I tell a few stories from my 32 year career at KNXT (later KCBS and KCAL).

As I mentioned to Willy, most of the interesting and weird stuff happened to other engineers, rather than myself, but I do have a few tales. I will relate two of them below; if I get no flames, I may be persuaded to do it again.

First, a bit of background. I went to work for the CBS O&O (Owned and Operated) TV station in Los Angeles in August of 1981. Its call was KNXT at that time (later changed to KCBS). The fellow who hired me was named Doug Schneider. He ate, slept and breathed television broadcasting. For those of us who actually had a life other than work, we referred to his ideas as "Schneidervision" but there was no question that he implemented cutting edge ideas well ahead of most other station's technical Departments.