Old People

Go down

Old People Empty Old People

Post by Wildcat445 on Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:10 am

I work part time in retail. I work with a young man who is a college student. His name is Mike and he is just a good kid. He is quiet, well-spoken and respectful. With all the twits like Miley Cyrus and Justin Bieber getting all the press, it is comforting to know that there are kids like Mike in the world and that the future is in good hands.

I was getting ready to close this evening, when an older man and lady came into my department. He was dressed in a blue, pin-striped, three piece suit with a red tie and a red handkerchief in his pocket and a red carnation in the lapel. The lady was dressed to the nines with her pearl necklace and a diamond big enough to choke a horse. She had on a corsage of red carnations. The lady approached me and said "Excuse me, young man, would you be good enough to tell me where I could find the ricotta cheese?" I asked her to follow me, and we went about 10 steps, I reached up on the shelf, got her a container of ricotta cheese and handed it to her. She asked if I had a smaller size, so I handed her the 8 oz, size. We made small talk, when Mike asked them where they were going all dressed up and looking so nice. "We are celebrating our wedding anniversary", says she, proud as a peacock. " I have put up with this old man for 65 years. March 15, 19 and 49, it was. Seems like two weeks ago." I pointed out that today was only the 12th and she explained that "the kids" were having a reception for them on Saturday, the 15th, but they wanted to go out just the two of them. They had been to a popular steak house. The man walked with a cane and the lady's steps were choppy and uneven. The lady held the man's hand or had her arm thru his as they walked thru the store.