Hello, Radio Fans!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hello, Radio Fans!

Post by hismastersvoice on Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:10 pm

I'll try not to be too wordy...

Hello, my name is Ava. I am a complete newb to vintage radios. I just discovered them like yesterday...okay, it was last week. Whatever. I have my first radio on the way. It's an RCA Victor BX-6 Globetrotter. Non-working. I come to this forum from another forum that didn't have an Introduction thread, and some pretty staunch fellows who believe in forum search features. I joined, but didn't post. I actually felt lost, so Google brought me here.

What I've Learned So Far

I have been devouring every piece of information I can find about how to restore these radios. I know they can injure/maim/kill you if you're not careful. I know you can just clean them with any old thing because it could damage the case and other parts.

My Ambition

I am passionate about conserving the integrity of the device as a piece of history and restoring it to its original working condition. I would also like to add additional modern functionality in the form of Bluetooth, so that music can be streamed from other devices such as computers, phones, and tablets. However, I want to do this is a way that doesn't compromise the value of the piece. I want any components that I add for this purpose to be completely removable so there's no trace they were ever there in the future. I have developed a method for this that I think is respectable.

What I Don't Know