Meaningless terminology

Go down

Meaningless terminology Empty Meaningless terminology

Post by Wildcat445 on Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:06 pm

I work part-time in retail, and it never ceases to amaze me what people will buy.  Following is the Wildcat list of meaningless terminology.

*"Clinically tested/approved".  What is a "clinic."  Where is said clinic?  Who operates said clinic?  What are their qualifications?  How was the clinic operated, and under what conditions?  What criteria was used for the test?  You get the idea.  Worthless information.

*"All natural".  Folks, dog poop is all natural, but I don't want it in my food.  Everything from nature is all natural.  If I have a radio that the cabinet has been eaten my termites and the chassis is rusty and ruined from mouse pee, can I advertise it as "all natural?"  People pay extra for the words "all natural." All-natural eggs are at least a dollar more a dozen that regular eggs. How does one acquire an "un-natural" egg? Are not ALL hen eggs "all-natural"?

*"Organic."  There are so many different definitions of "organic" that you never know what you are getting.  Big bucks are paid for organic food.  The best way to get hosed in retail.

*"New/Improved/New size".  A half gallon of ice cream should be 64 ounces.  Not anymore, it ain't!  59 ounces and even 56 ounces is the norm.  Instead of the package saying 1/2 gallon of ice cream, it now says, in large letters, "New Size", and it itsy-bitsy letters "59 ounces."  Either way, you are getting hosed.  They did not lower the price, you see.  Changing the color of the lid is not really improved, is it?

*"On sale/special/on ad".  This is usually slow-selling merchandise that is one level away from J-Lo merchandise.  This nomenclature makes you think you are getting a deal.  You are getting hosed.  Normal price, just on ad.