Newbie from Massachusetts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Newbie from Massachusetts

Post by TappingCure on Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:43 am

Greetings!
I will probably just lurk for a while first; I am a complete newb. Lately I have become very interested in acquiring a good vintage tube radio or two. (Uh-oh, collecting fever...must watch out for this.) I live near Boston, MA with my husband and four cats--and yes, I am a gal! A life-long radio listener, I own a ton of vinyl recordings, cassette tapes and CDs. I can't stand anything with earbuds. Someone gave me an iPod but I have no patience for loading it. I am a musician and a builder of musical instruments (hand made flutes in precious metals). I hope to be able to contribute some day but for now I watch and read. Looking forward to learning about tube radio!

TappingCure

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2013-09-30

Back to top Go down

Re: Newbie from Massachusetts

Post by 75X11 on Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:53 am

Welcome!  You will find some good information and others who share your interests here. It is good to see a a lady take an interest in the hobby as many of these older radios were assembled by skilled ladies. My mother assembled "gun" assemblies for RCA color picture tubes.

Last edited by 75X11 on Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:02 am; edited 1 time in total
75X11

Number of posts : 4900
Registration date : 2013-03-10

Back to top Go down

Post by Wildcat445 on Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:58 am

Welcome to TRF. Just jump right in. You will like it here.

Regards

WC

Wildcat445

Number of posts : 5168
Registration date : 2011-09-19

Back to top Go down

Post by Bill Cahill on Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:18 am

Most cerainly welcome to TRF. Jump right in. Ask questions. How do you think we learned?? When I was a kid, I was always taking apart the family tv after I saw what it looked like while a repairman was fixing it.