Testing Tubes

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Testing Tubes

Post by trenchartman on Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:34 pm

Hello,

I am new to the world of old radios and tubes.  I have been in the antique business for over 30 years but have never tinkered with any of this type stuff.  

I recently purchased quite a few radio tubes and in the bunch are some old tennis ball tubes.  I am in the process of learning how to test tubes and I do not want to ruin any good tubes.  I have been successful in test some tubes that I could find in the charts.  I have a few testers but right now the only one that is working is a Tripplett 3413A.  The tubes I have listed below are not on any of the charts and I am at a loss of what settings the tester should be on to properly test these tubes without damaging them.  If anyone can help me it would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a list of the tennis ball tubes I have:

2- 205 D etched base tubes
2- 205 D metal base tubes 
1- 102 G tube
1- 101 F tube
1  D-86327 tube

Thank you,
trenchartman

trenchartman

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2013-06-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Testing Tubes

Post by atwater10 on Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:21 am

Hi,

I'm not sure of the settings for your "Tripplett 3413A" tester but I do have the settings for my Hickok 752A ... I'm sure these testers are as different as night-n-day.

My reason for posting is that I had to rig up a Western Electric 100m socket (if i remember correctly) with a 4-conductor cable soldered into a standard 4-pin tube base (mine was off of an open 811A tube) as the WE tubes guide pin seems to be offset compared to regular 4-pin tubes. Cool
atwater10

Number of posts : 61
Registration date : 2012-04-21

Back to top Go down

Post by Resistance is Futile on Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:36 pm

205 -  fil 4.5dc
102 - fil 2,1vdc
101F - fil 4.15vdc
D86327 is the same as a 104D - fil 4.5vdc

unable to find settings so here's what you need to do.