Signal Generator & Osilloscope Probes

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Signal Generator & Osilloscope Probes

Post by Where did I put that... on Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:11 pm

I just got a Precision signal generator and an RCA oscilloscope that I know work because I saw them in operation before I bought them. The stipulation was that the seller needed to keep the test leads.

I have a coax cable with the single contact screw-on microphone connector and the other end of the 6-foot lead is cut. I need to know if there is a way I can add something to the cut end to get it to work. I'm new at anything bigger than a VTVM but I've heard about 50-ohm termination ends and capacitor isolators and such but what goes where is a total mystery.

Can anyone shed some light on my sorry situation?

Robin
Where did I put that...

Number of posts : 21
Registration date : 2008-06-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Signal Generator & Osilloscope Probes

Post by Resistance is Futile on Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:45 am

You will need to get a commercial built probe, unless your very skilled at making them. What type of connectors do you have on the scope?

Are they BNC? or PHONO? RCA type?

The size of cap and resistor are important too. because they need to be adjustable on more expensive sets. As the leading and trailing edge of the square wave pattern need to symmetrical (for frequency compensation.) Also for attenuation of 1X, 10X or such.

The ground or shield must be of a coax type that is rated as 50ohms to be a standard or your readings will be ambiguous and meaningless. You also will need a standard to reference the probe to. Such as a 1 KHz square wave at 50 millivolts or such I forget myself.

Some Scope's have a calibrator tie point that you can hook your probe up to.
Sounds like its complicated things right?

Hope this helps some.

Click on this link for construction Ideas
Resistance is Futile

Number of posts : 976
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down