Anyone ever do this?

Go down

Anyone ever do this?  Empty Anyone ever do this?

Post by willy3486 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:05 am

I saw a RCA 66x11 radio. One of the Bakelite RCA radios with three knobs. I thought that would be a nice one to have, I like the Bakelite tabletop radios best of all. Anyway I figured if I could find one I could afford I would get it. I have been cleaning out my shop for a couple of years after over 15 years of not tinkering with radios. I have about wrapped it up and some of the last cleaning I was doing today was cleaning the back shelves in one of my hallways. Well as I was cleaning this area out, I have piled it up for years I was finding all kinds of things. I found a half gallon size bag full of new diodes. I have no idea where I got them or when.

I also found about 15 pounds of copper wire used around picture tubes I stripped down to sale and fund the hobby. I pulled out and sorted wall warts AKA plug in power supplies and filled three boxes. But the biggest treat was finding one of those RCA 66x11 radios. I had no idea I had one or even when I got it. So I have a new project for down the road. I also found a box with binding posts that I can replace the one on my 40s watterman scope I want to restore. The last two days I have found quite a few items that will come in handy. Now if I can get finished and actually fix something.

willy3486

Number of posts : 1392
Registration date : 2011-07-02

Back to top Go down

Anyone ever do this?  Empty Re: Anyone ever do this?

Post by Bill Cahill on Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:44 am

I have that model, and, it's a good playing radio, but, susceptable to rotten rubber wiring.
They play well. The dial lights are odd ball, though, and, they have them in series for a good reason.
Hope you post this with pictures in Antiezue Radios sectiion.
Bill Cahill

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4454
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Post by willy3486 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:00 am