Repairing Switched Pot

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Repairing Switched Pot

Post by ttist25 on Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:43 pm

Hello there,

This is my first post. I'm a noob to tube radio collecting/repair but I've already managed to amass 8 of them. This looks like it's going to be a problem! Smile

I'm working on a Polaris Five Tube Super, specifically, the on/off volume pot. It's a little bit scratchy but, the biggest issue is that it is either on or off. The mechanism that switches the little arm between the posts isn't working. Here's a photo of what I'm talking about:

If I take the blade of a screwdriver and place it in the groove of the black plastic hinge doohicky, the arm switches between the posts as expected (without a great deal of force), but when I replace the post, I can't get it to push the arm to turn on and off. The little arm that looks like it's supposed to move that switch seems to be in good shape (no obvious damage).

I know I'm nuts for trying to fix this but, I feel like it's doable, I'm just missing something.

Anyone have a tips or suggestions (besides buy a new one)?

THanks!

ttist25

Number of posts : 6
Registration date : 2012-04-23

Back to top Go down

Re: Repairing Switched Pot

Post by atwater10 on Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:40 pm

Hi,

Some years ago I had a similar issue where the switch would switch on but when turned to off it would never click off. ( for the life of me I can't recall which radio I was working on )

I did some digging through my parts boxes and I found a similar looking control that had the on-off switch but two pots stacked together ... Just for grins, I disassembled the switch portion off of the bottom and it fit nicely on my original volume control Cool I believe it had the same voltage/current rating as the original too.

So you may want to dig around in your parts.

Last edited by atwater10 on Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
atwater10

Number of posts : 61