Calibrating Eico 666

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Calibrating Eico 666

Post by bagzy on Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:45 pm

Hi all, I received this tester and suspect it's been stored for years.
I have all the relevant info required concerning the unit I'm working on but must admit
that I'm by no means an expert of any kind when it comes to electronics.
First thing I did was deox all sockets, pots, toggles and push buttons.
Then I swapped out R8 and R19 for new 270K resistors.
The Cal. instructs state to connect an ac voltmeter across the 0-130v taps of the power transformer.
This is where I'm guessing to connect my DMM test leads to the outside legs of R1.
If this is correct, I can only get a max 30vac reading at the pot's highest setting when the instructs state to set R1 to 130vac before adjusting R7.
Can somebody set me in the right direction? TIA.
bagzy

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2012-03-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Calibrating Eico 666

Post by Bill Cahill on Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:01 am

Caps, electrolytics, redtifier?
Have you replaced any of this?
Welcome to the forums...
Bill Cahill

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4538
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Post by bagzy on Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:02 pm

Thanks for the reply Bill.

Per your suggestion, I'll change the caps and electrolytics.
BTW, I'm still wondering if my test leads are in the right place for the transformer taps? I have them hooked up to the outside legs of the Line Adjust pot(R1) which trace back to the transformer?
bagzy

Back to top Go down

Post by Bill Cahill on Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:02 pm

That doesn't sound right. That's on the primay of the transformer. You want to check the secondary voltage while rotating control. But, why are you concerned with that? Seems you have more important issues, first.
Bill Cahill
Are you sure the meter movement in equipment is good?