Need help with a crosley 516

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Need help with a crosley 516

Post by Mark H on Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:08 pm

I am just getting started on repairing old radio's and could use some help on a crosley 516 I am working on....I am def learning as I go, so be patient. I picked this radio up a while ago and have been repairing obvious problems. It has been recapped, some tubes replaced, a bad socket and so on. When i power the radio up I get nothing at all out of it and cannot seem to figure out why ? I have good B+voltage, audio transformer is good. Can anyone point a beginner in a good direction ?

Thanks,
Mark

Mark H

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2011-11-28

Back to top Go down

Re: Need help with a crosley 516

Post by Bill Cahill on Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:34 pm

Does that radio use locktal tubes? If so, suspect sockets with poor connections, and, rusty tube pins. Very common problem.
Another, have you tested the tubes?
Still another, disconnect one end of ouput transformer from spkr., and, check resistance. Is speaker good? Might be around three ohms on an ohm meter.
Is voice coil on spkr. moving freely?
If frozen, that can also kill your sound.
Bill Cahill
Oh, and, welcome to the forums.

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4538
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Post by Mark H on Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:06 am

Hi Bill and thank you for the welcome ! I have checked all the tubes and replaced as needed. Have cleaned sockets and even replaced one. I have checked the voice coil and the output transformer and they appear to be fine. I even hooked up a spare speaker to double check but still nothing....I am really stumped....any other suggestions ?

Thanks Mark

Mark H

Back to top Go down

Post by Motorola man on Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:30 am