RF Signal Generator or RF & AF

View previous topic View next topic Go down

RF Signal Generator or RF & AF

Post by airrace on Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:12 am

I am new to A.M. radio repair. I would like to buy a signal generator. I have noticed that some generators are RF (only) and other generators (like an old Heathkit T-3) have RF & AF functions. Is the AF function necessary for the later stages in the radio? How does one know if a generator is a "sweep" generator (other than the fact that is says "sweep" in the model #)? Any recommendations on a good signal generator to look for on the Bay for under $100? Thanks to all! Steve

airrace

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2011-11-07

Back to top Go down

Re: RF Signal Generator or RF & AF

Post by N7ZAL on Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:01 am

Usually the reference to "audio," is that the RF signal generator can be modulated by a tone of some frequency. Usually the lesser expensive generators use a 1,000 KHZ audio tone. This will allow you to modulate the RF signal and then follow the detected tone through the detected audio section. I've found old, cheap, signal generators do all I need to do, trouble shooting, IF alignment, etc. A frequency counter is a good think to have also.
N7ZAL

Number of posts : 501
Registration date : 2011-11-05

Back to top Go down

Post by Bill Cahill on Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:20 am

Sweep generators are used in television.
They are used for checking thevertical, and, horizontal sweep circuits when having problems.
Billl Cahill

Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 4538
Registration date : 2008-03-12

Back to top Go down

Post by willy3486 on Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:09 pm