Webcor model 123 Jubilee from 1953

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Webcor model 123 Jubilee from 1953

Post by fixinmyphono on Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:17 pm

Hi Folks I am new to the hobby.Hope to learn and enjoy all I can from it,and maybe help others along the way if I can.Well I bought an old webcor model 123 phono at a flea market and love it! I took it home looked it over inside and out to make sure nothing was out of place(broken wires and such) and plugged it in.The turntable spun and the sound was very low.So I checked the needle tapped the cartridge a few times and more sound came out.Also the volume was scratchy so I kept working it till it got better (some).I figured it needed cleaning inside so I sprayed some electric cleaner I use from work in it made sure after turning it back and forth and that it was finally dry and when I turned it on volume was fixed! Also I ordered a new cartridge for it and photo-fact. It still has a hum in it though I have done some research and it seems it may be a tube gone bad (it has but 3)and one seems to be blackened on one side(bad perhaps?)I think I will replace perhaps all 3 as they are not expensive with nos, and see if this fixes the hum .Does this seem like a good way to start ? Ty Doug
fixinmyphono

Number of posts : 214
Registration date : 2011-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Webcor model 123 Jubilee from 1953

Post by Motorola man on Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:58 pm