HELP I'M NEW

View previous topic View next topic Go down

HELP I'M NEW

Post by Fibber Mcgee on Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:41 am

I'm new to this so I need some help.I've got a SONORA RMR219 and I want to get it working I've got a diagram and I think I understand the basics of it but don't know where to start.The radio powers up and hums,the phonograph runs but the volume,tone and selector switches don't seem to do anything.I tried turning it to phonograph and playing it but just a hum,same thing when I turn it to radio and try to tune it.I just don't know if I start with the capacitors or if I should look somewhere else.I would like to learn how to do this so any information would be great.

Fibber Mcgee

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2011-03-21

Back to top Go down

Re: HELP I'M NEW

Post by kb4yrc on Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:03 pm

Welcome to the forum, Fibber. I'd start by replaceing the filter caps. ..... Gregg

kb4yrc

Number of posts : 104
Registration date : 2008-05-20

Back to top Go down

Post by willy3486 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:34 pm

What I use to do years ago was to usually change all the caps that were wax,electrolytic and test all tubes. I then use a variable voltage supply to gradually get it to 120 to test. Most of the time,90% that took care of the issue. Then if it wouldn't work I would work on it from back to front. In other words test the audio amp to the speaker first then work my way to the antenna in. I use to do this 20 years ago and I think the pattern would still work.

willy3486

Number of posts : 1428
Registration date : 2011-07-02

Back to top Go down

Troubleshooting a dead radio that powers up

Post by dan88king on Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:17 pm